NALS of Greater Kalamazoo




* * * * *

In the 2014 fiscal year, NALS of Greater Kalamazoo shall present two scholarships, each for $1,000.  The scholarships will be awarded on the basis of scholastic or legal career achievement, future career goals, demonstration of financial need, and leadership ability.  The scholarship award may be granted to any qualified applicant enrolled in a Michigan school of advanced education in the legal field.

The candidate must:

A.     Be a high school senior, or
B.     Be enrolled in or able to enroll in,a school of advanced education
          commencing with the ensuing school term.  
C.    Be in need of financial assistance.

Non-winning candidates from prior years who meet current qualifications are eligible for renomination.  Prior winning candidates who meet current qualifications are eligible for renonimation two years (2) after winning the award.

The application and all required attachments MUST be submitted and postmarked no later than Friday, April 11, 2014.  Any application postmarked after that date will be disqualified.

In the event a selected recipient does not accept the scholarship award, the scholarship will be awarded to the next highest candidate in order.  The scholarship recipient must notify NALS of Greater Kalamazoo of his/her final decision regarding enrollment no later than June 1, 2013.  Should a selected recipient not enroll in the ensuing term of school, thereby forfeiting
the award, it shall be presented to the first runner-up.

Periodic reports on the progress of the scholarship recipients shall be given to NALS of Greater Kalamazoo when possible.  It is recommended that the Association maintain personal contact with the winner of the award and that they make a progress report from time to time.

The scholarship monetary awards shall be paid directly to the school of the selected recipient's choice for enrollment in the ensuing term of school.

Any scholarship award must be used in full within one year from the date of the written notification to the selected recipients of his or her selection.  Any unused scholarship award, or portion thereof, shall be refunded by the school to NALS of Greater Kalamazoo by June 1, 2015.


55.7 KB

For more information contact:

Pamela S. Wilcox
Miller, Canfield, Paddock and Stone
277 South Rose Street, Suite 5000
Kalamazoo, MI  49007
(269) 381-7030 ext. 3842

*Jo Spaulding was an active and much loved member of our association.  She was honored as a charter member in May of 1988 and awarded the Kalamazoo area “Legal Secretary of the Year” in 1989.  The Jo Spaulding Memorial Scholarship was established by a donation from her family and continues through the efforts of NALS of Greater Kalamazoo to this day.
Website Builder